Handmade Memory Heart

My mother has always been into arts and crafts and from an earlier stage in ym life I already learned a thing or two about how she goes about it. A while back she started making different interesting things with wood, and I couldn’t help but want one for myself – something sentimental. I would like to share this with all of you who appreciate sentimental value, as well as the hobby of making things from scratch and turning it into something beautiful….

So my mom made me a memory heart ❤ For the English folk I call it a Memory heart as “Herinneringe” means Memory when translated.

Memory Heart

Memory Heart

I will give you some information she gave me about what she used and her process : The wood she used is called Supawood. It is quite thick and sturdy, so she used a scroll saw to cut into a heart shape. I suppose you could cut any shape you like, that’s the beauty of the imagination!

Memory Heart

Memory Heart

She used scrapbooking paper, which she decoupaged onto the wood. I liked the coulage effect with the old and new, floral and text going on. You could use any gift paper or newspaper or any other paper you like as well. All the sentimental items on this heart I chose from her drawers in her studio…

Red Roses

Red Roses

Red roses are my favourite flower soI just had to have it on there – red being my favourite colour as well. The butterfly was an extra touch of glitter and glam – a little bit of drama to keep things interesting!

Red Hearts

Red Hearts

The hearts are a symbol of the three members in my house – also added a littel bit of glitter glue on there to make it sparkle.

The Key

The Key

That key is very sentimental to both me and my mother – when my grandmother moved into a nursing home we found a small box filled with these keys that they collected over the years (nobody knows where they come from or what they are used for!), which makes it very special to me. There is just something about old things…
And lastly – the text has been added for special effect. You could use text cut from wood or any paper text, maybe even cut our of glittery scrapbooking paper, the possibilities are endless!! The final result is unique on each heart. No two hearts are the same – but isn’t that how it should be? 🙂

Memory Heart

Memory Heart

Leave a Reply

